Languages – Italian

Black Forest Primary School offers Italian language learning to all students from Reception to Year 7, in line with the Australian Curriculum Languages learning area. As described in the Australian Curriculum, “Italian, also known as Standard Italian or italiano standard, is the official language of Italy, the Vatican City, San Marino and parts of Switzerland. It is also an official language of the European Union, and a major community language in countries such as Australia, Luxembourg, the United States, Canada, Brazil, Uruguay and Argentina, and in parts of Africa. Italian is, and has been for many years, one of the major community languages in Australia.

Learners of Italian in Australian schools come from a wide range of backgrounds, and include learners for whom this represents a first experience of learning Italian; learners who have existing connections with Italian, most directly as background Italian speakers, as second- or third-generation Italian Australians; and learners who may have experience in a related variety of Italian or another Romance language.

The Australian Curriculum: Languages — Foundation–Year 10 Italian is pitched to second language learners as the dominant group of learners of the Italian language in the Australian context. Teachers may use the Italian F–10 curriculum to cater for learners of different backgrounds by making appropriate adjustments.”


Department for Education logo
SA Gov logo
Creative Commons logo
Branding SA logo
Branding SA logo
Branding SA logo